Young Investigator Award 2016

Young Investigator Award 2016

Honoring and Promoting a Young researcher active in the fields of Nanofabrication and Nanotechnology for Electronics, MEMS and Life Sciences

Microelectronic Engineering (MEE)  is proud to continue the series of Young Investigator Awards and MEE Lectureships for a third year. The Lectureship will be presented at the MNE 2016 Conference in Austria. The Lectureship award will include $1000, plus travel costs to present the award lecture at the September 2016 MNE meeting, while MNE conference will cover registration and contribute towards accommodation costs.

Award finalists and winner announcement

The top 5 finalists for the 2016 award are:

  1. Ravinder Dahiya, Reader, School of Engineering, Glasgow University, UK
  2. Mario Lanza, Professor, Institute of Functional Nano & Soft Materials, Soochow University, China
  3. Jacopo Franco, Researcher, IMEC, Belgium
  4. Alessandro Chiolerio, Researcher, Center for Space Human Robotics, IIT, Torino, Italy
  5. Aline Cerf, Researcher, NanoBioSystems group, LAAS-CNRS, France

And the award winner is, Professor Ravinder Dahiya, Reader, School of Engineering, Glasgow University, UK,, for outstanding contributions in the fields of flexible electronics and sensing.

Elsevier and the members of the committee warmly congratulate the finalists and the award winner for their outstanding contributions. The award winner will give an invited talk on Wednesday.

Members of the Award Committee


  • Prof. Dieter KERN, University of Tübingen, Germany


  • Dr. Evangelos GOGOLIDES, NCSR Demokritos, Greece
  • Prof. Francesc PÉREZ-MURANO, Instituto de Microelectrónica de Barcelona, Spain
  • Prof. Maan ALKAISI, University of Canterbury, New Zealand
  • Prof. Jin-Woo CHOI, Louisiana State University, USA
  • Dr. Hubert BRÜCKL, Danube University Krems, Austria
  • Dr. Christophe VIEU, LAAS, Toulouse, France
  • Prof. Guido GROESENEKEN, IMEC / KU Leuven Belgium
  • Dr. Michel DESPONT, CSEM, Switzerland
  • Prof. Urs STAUFER, TU Delft, The Netherlands
  • Prof. Guillermo VILLANUEVA, EPFL, Switzerland (award winner 2014)
  • Prof. Monika FLEISCHER, University of Tübingen, Germany (award winner 2014)
  • Prof. Stefan Sylvest KELLER, DTU Denmark (award winner 2015)
  • with the coordination of the Journal Publishers, Dr Liliana BIRLA and Telli Faez, Elsevier